If you require additional assistance using the databases, locating resources, or referencing, please contact Ms. Dale or Mrs. Buckle in the library.
1. Read and understand your assessment question/task.
2. Create your document, including title page and reference page
3. Identify the key concept in your assessment question/task (eg: your chosen landmark or landscape)
4. Next, identify other keywords and related terms (eg: location, composition, formation, habitats, human impact on your landmark/landscape).
5. Read broadly to understand your topic.
6. When searching any of the databases, use between 2 and 4 keywords with the word and in between. For example: Fraser Island and location or Uluru and composition and formation (the word 'and' does not count as a keyword).
7. Use reliable and authoritative sources such as government websites and databases to locate your resources.
8. Use organisational (.org) websites with caution as they may contain bias and may not be referenced, apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to ensure the source is current, relevant, authoritative, accurate and purposeful - watch the embedded video adjacent for further information.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using an .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Australian landforms (Geoscience Australia, n.d) This is a government website, so it is an authoritative and reliable source of information. Use the search function to locate information on your chosen Australian landform/landscape.
NASA Earth Observatory (NASA, 2021) This NASA government website contains images of landscapes and landforms taken from space. Use the search function to see whether there are images of your chosen Australian landform/landscape.
ABC Education (ABC, 2020) This website contains information on many different topics. Try using the search function to locate information on your chosen Australian landform/landscape.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Our Great Dividing Range (Australian Conservation Foundation, n.d)
The geology of eastern Victoria (Department of jobs, precincts & regions, 2021)
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
K'gari (Fraser Island), Great Sandy National Park (State of QLD, 2021)
Fraser Island (UNESCO World Heritage Centre, 2021) This website URL ends in .org, that is, it's an organisational website that should be used with caution. Always apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to determine if it is suitable or not.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
About Kati Thanda - Lake Eyre Basin (Australian Government, 2020)
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Twelve Apostles (Parks Victoria, n.d)
Click on the following link to access an article on the Twelve Apostles through the Britannica database (*remember you can use the 'cite' button to reference this article).
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Cradle Mountain (Tasmanian Government, 2021)
Cradle Mountain-Lake St.Clair (Global Alliance of National Parks, 2021) This website URL ends in .org, that is, it's an organisational website that should be used with caution. Always apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to determine if it is suitable or not. This particular website contains references so it is considered safe and reliable to use.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Simpson Desert (One Earth, 2021) This website URL ends in .org, that is, it's an organisational website that should be used with caution. Always apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to determine if it is suitable or not. This particular website contains references so it is considered safe and reliable to use.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using a .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Purnulula National Park (UNESCO World Heritage Centre, 2021) This website URL ends in .org, that is, it's an organisational website that should be used with caution. Always apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to see if it is suitable.
This 2 minute video is entitled what are databases and why you need them? (Yavapai College Library, 2011)
Redlands College Library subscribes to many wonderful online databases. To access the databases simply click here and if prompted select your school Gmail account and enter your school Gmail password. If you have trouble accessing the databases or need assistance locating suitable resources please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au). When using the library databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, use the suggested keywords on the 'research ready' webpage. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested/related items as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles, which can lead you to more resources. Remember to 'cite' or reference all the resources you use in your assessment.
* Remember that Britannica school is an excellent database for general information and maps *
HINT: Also try using the 'power search' function to search across all the Gale Databases. Click on the image below.
S 577.530994 DIX S363.6 MIL S 363.6 MIL
The Middle/Senior library has books on different Australian landscapes and landforms. There are also different atlases available for you to use and borrow. These are shelved in the non-fiction section, in the 912 location. Please see library staff if you require assistance.
