[Shakespeare] Othello: Databases

Gale eBooks 

Gale eBooks database holds many useful eBooks that can help with your research. Use search terms and phrases such as "The Merchant of Venice" or "Shakespeare". To narrow down your results use the "search within" option to filter your results to, for example, "anti-semitism" and "Verona". Login password: redcol

Gale Academic Onefile 

Gale eBooks database holds many useful eBooks that can help with your research. Use search terms and phrases such as "The Merchant of Venice" or "Shakespeare". To narrow down your results use the "search within" option to filter your results to, for example, "anti-semitism" and "Verona". Login password: redcol

Sparknotes (Othello Study Guide)

Sparknotes is a great place to find summaries, character analysis, literary devices discussions, study tips, and many other helpful study and revision resources. 

Course Hero (Othello Study Guide)

Course Hero is a great place to find summaries, character analysis, literary devices discussions, study tips, book infographics and many other helpful study and revision resources. 

Open Source Shakespeare 

Welcome to Open Source Shakespeare (OSS). Since it debuted in 2003, OSS has become one of the most popular Shakespeare sites on the Internet. It is used regularly by scholars, educators, and Shakespeare lovers around the world.

Bloom's Literature (Infobase): Shakespeare Centre

Folger Shakespeare Library

The Folger Shakespeare Library is an independent research library on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C., United States. It has the world's largest collection of the printed works of William Shakespeare, and is a primary repository for rare materials from the early modern period in Britain and Europe. 

Encyclopedia Britannica School 

Britannica Online School Edition is a comprehensive reference and learning portal for students from Prep to Year 12. It Includes four encyclopedias and over 120,000 articles, as well as atlases, dictionaries, timelines and multimedia. The Encyclopedia supports students with an extensive collection of study guides and curriculum based learning activities. Students from Prep to Year 5 are encouraged to use the Primary School section, the Middle School section is suitable for Years 6 to 8, and the High section for Years 9 to 12. You can save your search results, use the Multimedia resources for oral presentations, and email search results to your ipad. Students can cite information by clicking on the 'tick in a box' button at the top of the page. Please note: Access is only available at school. For further information please see the Library staff.

State Library of Queensland 

The State Library of Queensland (SLQ) subscribes to many wonderful databases.  It is strongly advised that you become a SLQ member.  It's free and only takes a minute! Click Here to become a member. 

When using the SLQ databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder.  Therefore, refine your results by using the limiters on the right hand side of the page.  Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested related items on the right hand side of the page as they can lead you to other resources.  If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles as this too can lead you to more resources.

Remember to use the 'Cite' button to create your reference (APA).

Google Scholar 

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

USFEFUL RESEARCH TIP: Use a research journal to document your key words and phrases and what search engines/databases/websites you've searched.  This will save you time and ensure you're not going around in circles searching a topic.  More suggested key words and phrases are provided on the research ready web page.