LibGuides: Year 10 Legal Studies: Resources

Useful Websites

Finding Queensland legislation and information
(Office of the Queensland Parliamentary Counsel, 2016)

State Library of Queensland Databases

The State Library of Queensland (SLQ) subscribes to many wonderful databases, including 46 legal or law-related databases. It is strongly advised that you become a SLQ member. It's free and only takes a minute! Click Here to become a member. When using the SLQ databases, remember to work smarter not harder. Therefore, refine your results by using the limiters on the right hand side of the page. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested related items on the right-hand side of the page as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, scan the titles as this can also lead you to more resources. Remember to use the 'Cite' button to create your reference (APA).

Search the State Library of QLD databases here (you will need to be a member to access any articles or books)

The following articles can only be accessed if you are a member of the State Library of Queensland. Please remember that some of these articles are not based on events or evidence from Queensland, please be mindful of jurisdictional issues.

BAIL

Another Bail Review (Hinton, 2019) - This is an application for the review of the decision of a Magistrate sitting in the Youth Court refusing to grant 12-year-old Indigenous Thomas bail. This article is from the Adelaide Law Review. *S.A article

Young people develop plan for changes they would make to SA's youth justice system (Connolly, 2020) - This is a bulletin from the Law Society of S.A *S.A article

ELECTRONIC TRACKING DEVICES

Monitoring youth: The collision of rights and rehabilitation (Weisburd, 2015) - This article is from the Iowa Law Review *United States article

INCARCERATION

Arrested development: The effects of incarceration on the development of psychosocial maturity (Dmitrieva, Monahan, Cauffman & Steinberg, 2012) - This article is from the Development and Psychopathology Journal

Redlands College Library Databases

The following articles are located within our online databases which the library subscribes to. To access the database page you may need to enter your B0 number and password. If you are already logged in to your school gmail, you will not need to enter any details. If you need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au).

The following articles are available through the Gale Global Issues in Context databases (password: redcol)

Court appearances via video link for young people in detention in Queensland (Hutchinson, 2021)

Youth justice in Australia: Themes from recent inquiries (Clancey, Wang & Lin, 2020)

Resources to Borrow from the Library

Issues in Society - Youth Crime
Volume 363.
This is an excellent resource that is available for you to look at or borrow for 24 hours. It presents all angles of the issue and is full of references. Please see the library staff if you wish to borrow this. This link will take you to the Library catalogue's record of this resource as no PDF copy is available for this issue.

Volume 482 - Youth crime and justice
This is a wonderful Australian resource that always does a great job at presenting both sides of an issue. It is full of references so it may help you locate more resources. This link will open the PDF of this copy.

Additional Resources to Help you Work Smarter Not Harder!

Writing & Research Webpage

The Power of Databases

This 2 minute video is entitled what are databases and why you need them? (Yavapai College Library, 2011)