Skip to Main Content

Year 11 Biology - Research Investigations: Resources

Assessment Task Sheet

PLEASE REMEMBER

Remember to look for references and links within and at the end of each source as they can lead you to other articles/resources.  Just remember to apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to ensure it is Current, Relevant, Authoritative, Accurate and Purposeful.   

Search the Library Catalogue

Choose Your Topic for Investigation

Articles and Weblinks

 

Simply put: vaccination saves lives (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 2017).

Vaccine preventable diseases (Australian Government Department of Health, n.d).

Vaccine effectiveness (New Zealand Government Ministry of Health, 2018).

Vaccine safety: Immune system and health (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 2020).

The following articles have been retrieved from the State Library of Queensland (SLQ) databases.  It is strongly advised that you become a SLQ member.  It's free and only takes a minute! Click Here to become a member.  If you are not a member you will NOT be able to access the following articles.

 

Pneumococcal vaccination in adults: Does it really work? (Pitsiou & Kioumis, 2011)

Measles vaccination: a shot of common sense (Giddings, 2014)

Measles vaccination coverage, determinants of delayed vaccination and reasons for non-vaccination among children 24-35 months in Zhejiang province, China (Hu, Wang, Chen, Liang & Chen, 2018)

Chicken pox vaccination (Ford, 2004)

Tetanus toxoid vaccine: Elimination of neonatal tetanus in selected states of India (Verma & Khanna, 2012)

The following articles are located within online databases which the library subscribes to.  To access these databases you will need to enter the case-sensitive password.  If you have forgotten the password or need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au).

 

Vaccination of adults in general medical practice (Hunter, Fryhofer & Szilagyi, 2020) Available through the Academic OneFile Database

Tetanus vaccine / Vaccine antitetanique (Weekly Epidemiological Record, 2006) Available through the Academic OneFile Database

Better influenza vaccines: an industry perspective (Chen, Liu, Tseng & Ma, 2020) Available through the Academic OneFile Database

Comparing SARS-CoV-2 natural immunity to vaccine-induced immunity: reinfections versus breakthrough infections (Gazit, et. al., 2021) - Available via ScienceOpen 

Vaccination (Kit, 2021) - Available via Access Science (McGraw Hill)

DNA Vaccination (Hassett, 2019) - Available via Access Science (McGraw Hill). 

 

Articles and Weblinks

 

Antibacterial cleaning products (Department of Health & Human Services, 2020)

Disinfection and the prevention of infectious disease: No adverse effects? (Dashner & Schuster, 2004)

Bacteria becomes resistant to hospital disinfectants, warns scientists (Davis, 2018)

Susceptibility of antibiotic-susceptible and antibiotic-resistant hospital bacteria to disinfectants (Rutala, Stiegal, Sarubbi & Weber, 1997)

Antibacterial cleaning and hygiene products as an emerging risk factor for antibiotic resistance in the community (Aiello & Larson, 2003)

Scientists discover that antimicrobial wipes and soaps may be making you (and society) sick (Dunn, 2011)

Multiple drug resistance and biocide resistance in Escherichia coli environmental isolates from hospital and household settings (Ghanem & Haddadin, 2018)

Why antibiotics shouldn't be in soap (Phiddian, 2021) (Cosmos magazine article)

Australia's National Microbial Resistance Strategy - 2020 and Beyond (Australian Government, 2020)

Hospital disinfectants should be regulated like antibiotics new study suggests (Hijazi, 2019). 

Chlorine disinfection promotes the exchange of antibiotic resistance genes across bacterial genera by natural transformation (Jin, et. al., 2020) - available via the State Library of Queensland. 

 

Articles and Weblinks

 

Antibiotic resistant bacteria (Department of Health & Human Services, 2020)

Antibiotic / antimicrobial resistance (AR/AMR) (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, 2020)

Antibiotic resistance (Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc, 2020)

Antimicrobial resistance (World Health Organization, 2020)

The antibiotic resistance crisis (Ventola, 2015)

Global burden of bacterial antimicrobial resistance in 2019: a systematic analysis (The Lancet, 2022). 

The Death of Antibiotics: We're running out of effective drugs to fight off an army of superbugs (Freedman, 2019). 

Antimicrobial resistance now a leading cause of death worldwide, study finds (Gregory, 2022). 

The following articles have been retrieved from the State Library of Queensland (SLQ) databases.  It is strongly advised that you become a SLQ member.  It's free and only takes a minute! Click Here to become a member.  If you are not a member you will NOT be able to access the following articles.

Overuse of antibiotics (Lamprecht, 2015)

When does overuse of antibiotics become a tragedy of the commons? (Porco, Gao, Scott, Shim & Enanoria, Galvani, Lietman, 2012)

Overuse of animal antibiotics threatens human health (Woodman, 1999)

The following articles are located within online databases which the library subscribes to.  To access these databases you will need to enter the case-sensitive password.  If you have forgotten the password or need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au).

CDC releases update of 2013 antibiotic resistance threats report (Lesney, 2019) Available through the Academic OneFile Database

Antibiotic Resistance (Pierce, 2022) - Available from Access Science (McGraw Hill). 

 

Antimicrobial Resistance Infographics (Review on Antimicrobial Resistance, UK)

 

Click here for a collection of Infographics and charts on antimicrobial resistance and how to tackle the issue. 

 

Vaccination (Kit, 2021) - Access Science (McGraw Hill)

 

Vaccination protects populations through community or herd immunity. When enough members of a community are immunized against a particular contagious disease, they are protected against that disease. (Top) A community in which no one is immunized; thus, an outbreak is liable to occur. (Middle) Some members of a community are immunized, but the amount is not enough to result in community immunity. (Bottom) Most members of a community are immunized, thereby providing protection to the population. (Credit: National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases)
Infographic: Antibiotic Resistance The Global Threat (CDC - Centre for Disease Control & Prevention, Global Health, 2019)

Click here for a PDF printable copy of this Infographic. 

What causes antibiotic resistance? - Keven Wu (TED-Ed)

 

How can we solve the antibiotic resistance crisis? - Gerry Wright (TED-Ed)