This research guide has been created for your benefit and is intended to be a starting point for your research. The expectation is that as a year 12 student you will take the time to explore the resources provided and recommended for you to use.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic.
NASA Earth Observatory website - What are phytoplankton? (Lindsey & Scott, 2010) * remember to follow hyperlinks within the article which can lead you to more useful information.
Phytoplankton (Australian Museum, 2022)
The following article has been retrieved from the State Library of Queensland (SLQ) databases. To access the following articles and many more, you need to be a SLQ member. It is strongly advised as a senior student that you become a SLQ member. It's free and only takes a minute! Click Here to become a member. If you are not a member you will NOT be able to access the following article. When using the SLQ databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, refine your results by using the limiters on the right hand side of the page. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested related items on the right hand side of the page as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles as this too can lead you to more resources.
The following article is located within our online databases which the library subscribes to. To access the databases you will need to enter the case-sensitive password. If you have forgotten the password or need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au).
This article is from the Gale Academic OneFile Database (Password = redcol)
*There are many more articles on phytoplankton available through the following databases: Gale in Context High School database, Access Science Database, PubMed Central, ScienceOpen, PLOS One, Frontiers and Britannica School.
The following article was located using the search engine Google Scholar and the key words environmental factors and phytoplankton. There are many more articles like this available you just need to take the time to locate them. Tip to save time: Use a research journal to document your key words and phrases and what search engines/websites you've searched. This will save you time and ensure you're not going around in circles searching a topic. Suggested key words and phrases are provided on the research ready web page.
Storm impacts on phytoplankton community dynamics in lakes (Stockwell et al., 2019)
Watch this 7 minute YouTube video entitled - Phytoplankton: Arguably the most important life on earth (SciShow, 2020)
Watch this 6 minute video on the secret life of plankton (National Geographic Society, 2014)
