Find primary sources here in the National Library of Australia - including finding newspaper articles, maps, photographs, manuscripts, etc.
The Move to Federation Source Analysis (Year 6 History - Australia as a Nation) - State Library of NSW - activities to help you learn to analyse primary source material on the Federation.
The Federation of Australia - Year 6 History (National Archives of Australia) - find lots of primary source material on the Federation.
Australia's Federation (Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House) - a good place to find resources (primary & secondary), including teacher guides.
Australian Federation Full Text Database (The University of Sydney) - a great place to find primary source material on Federation, especially documents.
"Combine Australia!" | PUNCH, NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AUSTRALIA. PHOTO: DRAGI MARKOVIC
In the cente of a ring of kangaroos stands a lion wearing a green jacket and carrying a cricket bat. His cap is printed with a Union Jack. The kangaroos wear blue and white stiped jackets with a yellow waist band. They are printed with 'New South Wales', 'Queensland' and 'Victoria'. An umpire watches on. Printed at the bottom is: 'Combine Aust! Umpire Punch: "You've done jolly well by combination in cricket field, and now you're going to federate at home. Bravo, boys!"'
Sporting union predated federation. In 1877 an intercolonial cricket team represented Australia in the first test match against England.
National Library of Australia, AN14292110
A sepia toned photograph of a group of men in formal attire in front of a portico of a building. Six men (including Edmund Barton, fourth from left in the top hat) are seated on chairs. Eight men stand behind. Henry Parkes is fourth from left and Alfred Deakin is sixth from left.
National Library of Australia, vn3582887
A colour poster for a lottery with £1500 in prizes. Australia floats on an ocean and the ANA (Australian Natives Association) sun shines down. Six men each carrying a rolled-up piece of paper rush across the centre of the country towards New South Wales Premier Sire George Reid standing on the steps of the New South Wales Parliament House. Sir Henry Parkes looks on. In the South West of the country (where Perth is located) Western Australian Premier John Forrest looks on while putting a piece of gold in his pocket.
STATE LIBRARY OF QUEENSLAND, IMAGE NO. 109589
A black and white photograph of a group of men, women and children (and a dog) gathered around the entrance of a low building. A sign reads 'Polling Booth Brisbane North'.
HAROLD BRADLEY, NATIONAL LIBRARY OF AUSTRALIA, AN13117410-4
A sepia toned photograph looking into a rotunda. A group of men under the dome are gathered around a table. Women with large hats stand outside the rotunda watching the events taking place inside. Decorations hang from the dome.
Australia's Prime Ministers. Book 1 : 1901-1945 by 
Australia : First Fleet to Federation by 
Australian Federation : one people, one destiny by 
The big book of Australian history by 
Governing Australia: People Who Govern by 
How Australia is governed : a simple guide to Australia's system of parliamentary democracy by 
https://libapps-au.s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/accounts/164324/images/government_in_australia_how_it_works.png by 
A nation of swaggies & diggers : 1880-1920 by 
Nelson history. 2 : Australian history to the 20th century by 
A short history of Australia by 
The story of Australia. 1899-1914 by
Britannica School Encyclopedia
Britannica Online School Edition is a comprehensive reference and learning portal for students from Prep to Year 12. It Includes four encyclopedias and over 120,000 articles, as well as atlases, dictionaries, timelines and multimedia. The Encyclopedia supports students with an extensive collection of study guides and curriculum based learning activities. Students from Prep to Year 5 are encouraged to use the Primary School section, the Middle School section is suitable for Years 6 to 8, and the High section for Years 9 to 12. You can save your search results, use the Multimedia resources for oral presentations, and email search results to your iPad. Students can cite information by clicking on the 'tick in a box' button at the top of the page. Please note: Access is only available at school. For further information please see the Library staff.
The State Library of Queensland (SLQ) subscribes to many wonderful databases. It is strongly advised that you become a SLQ member. It's free and only takes a minute! Click Here to become a member.
When using the SLQ databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, refine your results by using the limiters on the right hand side of the page. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested related items on the right hand side of the page as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles as this too can lead you to more resources.
Remember to use the 'Cite' button to create your reference (APA).
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
USFEFUL RESEARCH TIP: Use a research journal to document your key words and phrases and what search engines/databases/websites you've searched. This will save you time and ensure you're not going around in circles searching a topic. More suggested key words and phrases are provided on the research ready web page.
Federal, state and local (Parliamentary Education Office, 2022) - this webpage is an interactive game that tests your knowledge of the three levels of government in Australia.
Three levels of government (Parliamentary Education Office, 2022) - this webpage is a quiz that helps you learn more about Australia's three levels of government.
Democracy in Australia [No. 464 - of Issues in society] by A nation of swaggies & diggers : 1880-1920 by 
The story of Australia : for the young (and the curious) by
