Skip to Main Content

Year 6 HASS - Migration: Overview

Assessment Task Sheet
Definition of Migration
The English word migration derives from the Latin verb migrare, meaning “to move from one place to another.” By the broadest definition, human migration refers to any movement of people, either temporary or permanent, from one place to another. Usually, however, the term is used only for the permanent change of residence—meaning for at least a year—by an individual or group. In this way it as distinguished from more frequent but temporary movements, such as nomadism, migrant labor, tourism, and commuting.
 
Two other words associated with migration are emigrant and immigrant. An emigrant is someone who leaves one place for another. An immigrant is a person who comes into one country from another. Thus, a person who migrates to the United States from England is an emigrant from England and an immigrant to the United States.

Human Migration (Encyclopedia Britannica School - Middle, n.d.).

Learning Objective & Framework:

In this term we will examine the unique characteristics of Australia and how it compares to the other nations of the world. We will develop our appreciation of the blessings that we have as we live in Australia, while developing a greater understanding of the reasons why so many people from so many other countries in the world, seek to migrate to here as well. 

Students learn about:

The motivation of people migrating to Australia since Federation and throughout the 20th century, their stories and effects on Australian society, including migrants from the Asia region. 

Know It Alls: History - Migration (S01-E07)

 

Youngster Eleni and comedian Gen Fricker take on a trip through time as they explore the high seas with facts about Australian Migration, to be declared the Captain of the High Seas.
Click here to watch this episode of Know It Alls on TV4Education.
NOTE: you will need to login to TV4Education to view this video. 
Why People Migrate | Migration: A Human Story (People's History Museum)

 

Where and Why Do People Move? Crash Course Geography #32

 

Global migration (AFP News Agency)

 

Global Connections: Migration, Education and Trade (ClickView)

 

 

Human migration (Encyclopedia Britannica School - Middle) - This article can only be accessed at school. 

Human Migration (National Geographic Education) - This provides a collection that contains selection of content from NG Education about human migration. 

Introduction to Human Migration (National Geographic Society) - This is an activity. 

Migration (BBC Bitesize) - learn more about migration. 

Modern Human Migration (Google Earth) - Interactive Maps on modern human migration - click "Explore" to begin your journey of discovery.

Modern Human Migration (The Phillips Collection) - this is more of a teacher resources, but also useful to students who want to engage with more with the topic of modern human migration. 

Immigration to Australia (Encyclopedia Britannica School - Middle) - This article can only be accessed at school. 

Immigration (Schmitt, 2018) - this article is available from GALE IN CONTEXT database. You need to login with the School Library password to access (see 'Access Online Databases' tab for more info).

Immigrants and Emigrants (Miller, 2013) - this article is available from GALE IN CONTEXT database. You need to login with the School Library password to access (see 'Access Online Databases' tab for more info).

Teacher Resources: 

International Migration Law: Glossary on Migration (IOM UN Migration, 2019) - PDF Document providing definitions on Migration. 

 

Search Library Catalogue