This 2 minute video is entitled what are databases and why you need them? (Yavapai College Library, 2011)
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using an .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Urban growth of New Dehli (NASA Earth Observatory, unknown). This is a government website, therefore it is a reliable and authoritative source of information.
Urban development: Economic survey of Delhi (Government of Delhi, 2019). This is a government website, therefore it is a reliable and authoritative source of information.
Urbanization (Our world in data, 2019). This is an organisational website (.org) however, it does not contain any advertising and it is referenced so it passes the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
The following article is located within our online databases which the library subscribes to. To access the databases you will need to enter the case-sensitive password. If you have forgotten the password or need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au). When using the library databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, use the suggested keywords on the 'research ready' webpage. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested/related items as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles as this too can lead you to more resources.
This article is available through the Gale in Context High School database - The urbanization of poverty in India: spatiotemporal disparities in consumption expenditures (Yenneti, Wei & Chen, 2017). Please note: you don't need to understand everything within this article as it is a higher reading level. Read the second paragraph though as it explains the link between urbanisation and being urban poor.
* Remember that Britannica school is an excellent database for general country information and maps *
The Middle/Senior library has many different atlases available for you to use and borrow. They are shelved in the non-fiction section, in the 912 location. Please see library staff if you require assistance.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using an .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Karachi's Orangi Town named largest slum in the world (News Desk, 2016). This article is from a news source, so even though it is a .com site it is considered an acceptable source of information for your assessment piece.
Orangi pilot project (The World Bank Group, 2001). This website is an educational website (.edu) so it is a reliable and authoritative source of information.
Gender gap in Pakistan: a socio-demographic analysis (Raza & Murad, 2020). This is a referenced research article, so it is a reliable and authoritative source of information.
The following article is located within our online databases which the library subscribes to. To access the databases you will need to enter the case-sensitive password. If you have forgotten the password or need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au). When using the library databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, use the suggested keywords on the 'research ready' webpage. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested/related items as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles as this too can lead you to more resources.
This article is available through the Issues & Controversies database - Insight: Slumscapes - How the world's five biggest slums are shaping their futures (Thomson Reuters Foundation, 2016)
* Remember that Britannica school is an excellent database for general country information and maps *
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using an .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Understanding sea level (NASA Earth Data, unknown) This website looks at regional relative sea-level change, not specific to Jakarta, however it provides a great overview of the topic.
Jakarta: first capital to move due to sea rise (Building the world, 2019)
Jakarta, the fastest-sinking city in the world (Lin & Hidayat, 2018) This article is a BBC news story, so even though it is a .com site it is considered an acceptable source of information for your assessment piece.
Why will Jakarta stop being Indonesia's capitol? And why is it sinking? (Bachelard, 2019) This article is from The Sydney Morning Herald, so even though it is a .com site it is considered an acceptable source of information for your assessment piece.
The following article is located within our online databases which the library subscribes to. To access the databases you will need to enter the case-sensitive password. If you have forgotten the password or need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au). When using the library databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, use the suggested keywords on the 'research ready' webpage. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested/related items as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles as this too can lead you to more resources.
* Remember that Britannica school is an excellent database for general country information and maps *
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using an .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Climate change creates a new migration crisis for Bangladesh (McDonnell, 2019). This article is from National Geographic which is considered a reliable source of information.
Dhaka population 2021 - 21, 741, 090 (World population review, 2021). Although this is a .com website it references primary sources, indicating it is a reliable source of information.
World urbanization prospects - Population Division - United Nations. Have a look at the country profiles and maps (United Nations, 2018)
The following article is located within our online databases which the library subscribes to. To access the databases you will need to enter the case-sensitive password. If you have forgotten the password or need assistance please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au). When using the library databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, use the suggested keywords on the 'research ready' webpage. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested/related items as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles as this too can lead you to more resources.
This article is available through the Britannica School databases - Dhaka (Encyclopedia Britannica Inc, 2021)
