If you require additional assistance using the databases, locating resources, or referencing, please contact Ms. Dale or Mrs. Buckle in the library.
1. Read and understand your assessment question/task.
2. Create your document, including title page and reference page
3. Identify the key concept in your assessment question/task (eg: your chosen country)
4. Next, identify other keywords and related terms (eg: food insecurity, hunger, food access)
5. Read broadly to understand your topic.
6. When searching any of the databases, use between 2 and 5 keywords with the word and in between. For example: Ethiopia and food insecurity (the word 'and' does not count as a keyword).
7. Use reliable and authoritative sources such as government websites and databases to locate your resources.
8. Use organisational (.org) websites with caution as they may contain bias and may not be referenced, apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to ensure the source is current, relevant, authoritative, accurate and purposeful - watch the embedded video adjacent for further information.
*Please note, website URLs ending in .gov (government) or .edu (educational institution) are the most reliable and authoritative sites to use when researching a topic. If you are using an .org (organisational) or .com (commercial) website, remember to use the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test.
Food Insecurity (Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 2022)
Food security and why it matters (Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research, n.d)
The basics of food security (and how it's tied to everything) (World Vision Canada, 2022)
This 2 minute video is entitled what are databases and why you need them? (Yavapai College Library, 2011)
Redlands College Library subscribes to many wonderful online databases. To access the databases simply click here and if prompted select your school Gmail account and enter your school Gmail password. If you have trouble accessing the databases or need assistance locating suitable resources please contact library staff (library@redlands.qld.edu.au). When using the library databases remember the key is to work smarter not harder. Therefore, use the suggested keywords on the 'research ready' webpage. Once you locate a suitable resource, make sure you look at the suggested/related items as they can lead you to other resources. If an article or book has a list of references, be sure to scan the titles, which can lead you to more resources. Remember to 'cite' or reference all the resources you use in your assessment.
* Remember that Britannica school is an excellent database for general information and maps *
HINT: Also try searching the Gale Databases by using the 'power search' function. Click on the image below.
The Middle/Senior library has a range of atlases for you to use and borrow. These are shelved in the non-fiction section, in the 912 location. Please see library staff if you require assistance.
