Quantum Physics Claims - Year 12 Unit 4 Physics - Revolutions in Modern Physics

Resources

Quantum Mechanics Explained in Ridiculously Simple Words

Visualisations of Quantum Physics (Quantum Mechanics)

Quantum mechanics and the double slit experiment

The Origin of Quantum Mechanics (feat. Neil Turok)

The Quantum Technology in Your Pocket

How Quantum Mechanics Affects Your Life

Quantum 101 Episode 5: Quantum Entanglement Explained

Quantum Mechanics and Creation (with Dr. Danny Faulkner) | Answers in Genesis

Articles

Quantum Mechanics Tackles Mechanics (Hammerer, 2013) - article available in JSTOR database via the State Library of Queensland.

Reimagining the laser: new ides from quantum theory could herald a revolution (Wiseman, 2020).

5 Real Life Application of Quantum Science That You are Unaware of (Ashwin, 2024).

8 Ways You Didn't Know Quantum Technology Is Used In Everyday Lives (Choudhury, 2021).

Three Ways Quantum Physics Affects Your Daily Life (Orzel, 2018).

What is Quantum Mechanics Good for? (Matson, 2010).

Why are gravity and quantum mechanics incompatible with each other? Why can't they be combined into a single formula or concept? (Astronomy Staff, 2014).

Quantum Mechanics and Creation: A Brief Overview (Faulkner, 2020).

Quantum Weirdness (Lisle, 2019).

Do Creationists Believe in "Weird" Physics like Relativity, Quantum Mechanics, and String Theory (Faulkner, 2016).

Biblical Christianity, Quantum Physics and Spirituality (Knott, 2021).

A Physicist Talks God and The Quantum (Farrell, 2017).

Quantum Physics and the Existence of God (Stephen, 2024) - article available in ProQuest database via the State Library of Queensland.

Weblinks, Study Guides and Notes

Chapter 29: Introduction to Quantum Physics (in College Physics: Introduction to Science and the Realm of Physics, Physical Quantities, and Units) (Urone, et. al., 2012) - Online eBook from OpenStax.

How are Quantum Mechanics Used in Real Life? (BYJU, 2024).

How Are Quantum Phenomena Used in Technology Today? (Caltech Science Exchange, 2024).

The following are links to Various Science Databases with academically reliable research articles and content:

WORK SMARTER NOT HARDER!

Remember to look for other relevant resources in the reference section of each source as they can lead you to other resources. Also, articles from databases often have suggested reading and related items that can lead you to more resources. Please remember, it may take you some time to locate your first relevant resource. However, following the tips above can identify and lead you to more resources.

Access Science
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. This database offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations. Students can cite articles by clicking on the 'cite' button. Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Username: redlandscoll Password: science

ScienceOpen
ScienceOpen is a search and discovery platform that contains 64 million publications and 25 thousand journals.

PLOS ONE
PLOS ONE is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal that covers over 200 subject areas across science, engineering, medicine and related social sciences and humanities.

Frontiers
Frontiers is an open access publisher and open science platform. There are over 171 thousand peer-reviewed articles.

Frontiers in Physics
Frontiers is an open access publisher and open science platform. There are over 171 thousand peer-reviewed articles.

APS - American Physical Society
Academic Journals published by the American Physical Society.

AIP - Australian Institute of Physics
The AIP is a organisation dedicated to promoting the role of physics in research, education, industry and the community. Find free magazines, journals, articles, etc.

ScienceDirect
From foundational science to new and novel research, discover ScienceDirect's large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.

ResearchGate
No login required, but need to click “join for free” and then “No, my work is not scientific”

Google Dataset Search
Google dataset search helps researchers locate free access online data. If you're looking for data and statistics on a particular subject you might want to try this search engine!

Britannica Online Encyclopedia
Britannica Online School Edition is a comprehensive reference and learning portal for students from Prep to Year 12. It Includes four encyclopedias and over 120,000 articles, as well as atlases, dictionaries, timelines and multimedia. The Encyclopedia supports students with an extensive collection of study guides and curriculum based learning activities. Students from Prep to Year 5 are encouraged to use the Primary School section, the Middle School section is suitable for Years 6 to 8, and the High section for Years 9 to 12. You can save your search results, use the Multimedia resources for oral presentations, and email search results to your ipad. Students can cite information by clicking on the 'tick in a box' button at the top of the page. Please note: Access is only available at school. For further information please see the Library staff.

Britannica is suitable for junior, middle and senior students and is an excellent place to start when researching a topic.

Search SLQ databases
Click on this link to search SLQ databases
Registration is simple and free.
Members can access all the SLQ online databases. Please contact the library if you require assistance with this process or would like help using the SLQ online databases.
Use your school email (with your B0 number) and password to create an account.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Click below for more databases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) eBook Platform
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an eBook platform that allows you to explore eBooks on topics such as the arts, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science and technology. Students can cite articles by clicking on the cite button at the top of the page. Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Password: redcol

GALE Student Resources in Context (High Schoo)
Student Resources in Context contains links to information on the following topics: biography, geography, history, science and health, sports, business economics, government, literature and the arts, social issues, world cultures and religion. Students can cite articles by clicking on the cite button at the top of the page.Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Password: redcol

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile contains thousands of journal articles and periodicals on topics such as biology, chemistry, environmental science, history, criminal justice, economics, marketing, political science and psychology. Students can also articles by clicking on the cite button at the top of the page. Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Password: redcol

Consistent Quantum Theory by Robert B. Griffiths
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9780521803496
Publication Date: 2001-11-29
Constructing Reality by John Marburger
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9781107004832
Publication Date: 2011-07-28
Einstein and Heisenberg by Konrad Kleinknecht
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9783030052638
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
Information-Consciousness-Reality by James B. Glattfelder
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9783030036317
Publication Date: 2019-04-24
Quantum Mechanics by Mark Beck
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9780199798230
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Quantum Physics for Dummies by Steven Holzner
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9781118460887
Publication Date: 2013-01-09
Schrödinger's Cat Smile by Sergey Suprun; Anatoly Suprun; Victor Petrenko
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9789815049664
Publication Date: 2022-10-07

Ask an astronaut by Peake, Tim
Call Number: S 629.45 PEA
ISBN: 9781784759483
Publication Date: 2018
DK guide to space by Bond, Peter
Call Number: S 523 BON
ISBN: 9780241254851
Publication Date: 2016
Gravity by Hunter, Nick
Call Number: S 531 HUN
ISBN: 9781474746090
Publication Date: 2018
The New Answers Book 2 by Ken Ham (Editor); Bodie Hodge (Editor)
Call Number: S 231.7 NEW
ISBN: 9780890515372
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Physics: An Illustrated History of the Foundations of Science by Tom Jackson
Call Number: S 530.09 JAC
ISBN: 9780985323066
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Seven brief lessons on physics by Rovelli, Carlo
Call Number: S 530.1 ROV
ISBN: 9780141981727
Publication Date: 2016

Research Tips for Senior School Science

Libre Texts Study Guide - Arguing Using Critical Thinking (Marteney, 2024).

Does Your Source Pass the C.R.A.A.P. Test?

Assessment Task Sheet - Research Investigation

Year 12 Unit 4 Physics - Research Investigation Assessment Task Sheet 2024
Click on the link to download PDF Document.

Resources

Claim: Quantum Physics is at the forefront of medical research.
Stimulus: Quantum Physics in Medicine (Taylor-Smith, 2019).
Note: Students can research different how new discoveries in quantum physics using nanoparticles are being utilised in medical research.

Articles

Quantum Biology: Does Quantum physics hold the key to revolutionising medicine? (Goh, Tong & Pusparagjah, 2020).

A review of applications of principles of quantum physics in oncology: do quantum physics principles have any role in oncology research and applications? (Renata, et. al., 2019) - article available in ProQuest Central database via the State Library of Queensland.

Quantum Physic, Quantum Biology, Quantum Medicine? (Bullon, 2020).

The Possibility of Quantum Medicine in Cancer Research: A Review (Darzini, et. al., 2021) - PDF Document - article available from ResearchGate via a Google Scholar search - Search using Title or the search phrase "quantum physics and medical research".

What if quantum physics could eradicate illness? | Jim Al-Khalil for Big Think

The Future Model of Medicine: Quantum Medicine

Quantum Healthcare: Unleashing the Power of Quantum Physics in Medicine

Claim: Quantum theory can help explain reality
Stimulus: What does Quantum Theory Actually Tell Us About Reality? (Ananthaswamy, 2018).
Note: Students can research how physicists are defining reality and linking it to observations in quantum physics.

Articles

5 Real Life Application of Quantum Science That You are Unaware of (Ashwin, 2024).

What is the true nature of our quantum reality? (Siegel, 2022).

8 Ways You Didn't Know Quantum Technology Is Used In Everyday Lives (Choudhury, 2021).

Great Mysteries of Physics 4: does objective reality exist? (Frankel, 2023).

What Does Quantum Theory Actually Tell Us About Reality? (Ananthaswamy, 2018).

Quantum Theory and the Role of Mind in Nature (Stapp, 2001) - PDF Document.

Biblical Christianity, Quantum Physics and Spirituality (Knott, 2021).

A Physicist Talks God and The Quantum (Farrell, 2017).

Weblinks, Study Guides & Notes

How are Quantum Mechanics Used in Real Life? (BYJU, 2024).

How Are Quantum Phenomena Used in Technology Today? (Caltech Science Exchange, 2024).

eBooks (via the State Library of Queensland)

Constructing Reality by John Marburger
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9781107004832
Publication Date: 2011-07-28

Quantum Reality: Space, Time, and Entaglement

Lennox vs Atkins - Can science explain everything? (Official Debate video)

Claim: It’s no coincidence that neither quantum physics or human consciousness can be fully explained.
Stimulus: Strange link between the human mind and quantum physics (Carter, 2023).
Note: Students can research how consciousness and quantum physics are similar and different.

Articles

Quantum Physics and the Existence of God (Stephen, 2024) - article available in ProQuest database via the State Library of Queensland.

Quantum Theory of Consciousness (Zhi and Xiu, 2023).

Brain experiment suggest that consciousness relies on quantum entanglement (Fernandez, 2022).

Our place in the universe: Alexander Wendt and quantum mechanics (Kydd, 2022) - article available in ProQuest database via the State Library of Queensland.

Do quantum effects play a role in consciousness? (Adams, 2021).

Quantum Theory and Consciousness: A Link between Human Mind and Quantum Physics (Sonigara and Sarangdevot, 2018) - PDF Document.

eBooks (via The State Library of Queensland)

Information-Consciousness-Reality by James B. Glattfelder
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9783030036317
Publication Date: 2019-04-24

Does Consciousness Influence Quantum Mechanics?

Roger Penrose - Bridging Consciousness, Quantum Physics & The Universe

Does Quantum Mechanic Point to God's Existence? | Reasons to Believe

Consciousness and Quantum Mechanics: How are they related?

Claim: A particle can be in two places at the same time.
Stimulus: One of quantum physics' greatest paradoxes may have lost its leading explanation (Musser, 2020).
Note: Students can research paradoxes in quantum physics (or special relativity) and their currently accepted resolutions or possible explanations.

Articles

New quantum paradox reveals contradiction between widely-held beliefs (Griffith University News, 2020).

A new quantum paradox throws the foundations of observed reality into question (Cavalcanti, 2020).

A Theory of Everything that explains away the paradoxes of quantum mechanics (The Physics arXiv Blog, 2022).

Schrodlinger's Cat Explained with Quantum Computing | Paradoxes Ep. 01

Claim: Quantum computers are just around the corner.
Stimulus: The 12 Most Important and Stunning Quantum Experiments of 2019 (Letzter, 2019).
Note: Students can research quantum computers and latest advances.

Articles

10 Quantum Computing Applications and Examples (Gossett, 2022).

Quantum computers: what are they good for? (Brooks, 2023).

Quantum computers could solve countless problems - and create a lot of new ones (Campbell, 2023).

Claim: The discovery of blue LED’s deserved a Nobel Prize.
Stimulus: Press Release: New light to illuminate the world (Akasaki, Amano & Nakamura, 2014).
Note: Students can research Nobel prize winners in Physics that are related to Unit 4.

Articles

Nobel for blue LED that revolutionized lighting (Gibney, 2014).

The birth of the blue LED (Nanishi, 2014).

The Blue LED Nobel Prize: Historical Context, current scientific understanding, human benefit (Tsao, et. al., 2015).

Mom, How does a CD or DVD or Blu-ray Work? | Doc Physics

How Blue LED Light Changed the World! (2015)

How Blue LEDs Changed the World

Claim: Hawking radiation can destroy a black hole.
Stimulus: Hawking Radiation (Wikipedia, 2024) - NOTE: This is only for background knowledge to start off your research. Wikipedia is not a reliable scholarly source to reference in your assignment.
Example: “How can a black hole emit radiation, but light can’t escape?”