Standard Model Claims - Year 12 Unit 4 Physics - Revolutions in Modern Physics

Resources

The Standard Model

The Standard Model of Particle Physics: A Triumph of Science

What's the smallest thing in the universe? - Jonathan Butterworth | TED-Ed

CERN: The Standard Model of Particle Physics

Articles

A New Map of All the Particles and Forces (Wolchover, Velasco & Readding-Ikkanda, 2020).

The deconstructed Standard Model equations (Shivni, 2016).

The Standard Model of particle physics: The absolutely amazing theory of almost everything (Starkman, 2018).

A Deepening Crisis Forces Physicists to Rethink Structure of Nature's Laws (Wolchover, 2022).

Weblinks, Study Guides and Notes

The Standard Model (CERN, 2024).

The Standard Model (Institute of Physics, 2024).

The Physics Hypertextbook: The Standard Model (Elert,2024).

The following are links to Various Science Databases with academically reliable research articles and content:

WORK SMARTER NOT HARDER!

Remember to look for other relevant resources in the reference section of each source as they can lead you to other resources. Also, articles from databases often have suggested reading and related items that can lead you to more resources. Please remember, it may take you some time to locate your first relevant resource. However, following the tips above can identify and lead you to more resources.

Access Science
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. This database offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations. Students can cite articles by clicking on the 'cite' button. Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Username: redlandscoll Password: science

ScienceOpen
ScienceOpen is a search and discovery platform that contains 64 million publications and 25 thousand journals.

PLOS ONE
PLOS ONE is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal that covers over 200 subject areas across science, engineering, medicine and related social sciences and humanities.

Frontiers
Frontiers is an open access publisher and open science platform. There are over 171 thousand peer-reviewed articles.

Frontiers in Physics
Frontiers is an open access publisher and open science platform. There are over 171 thousand peer-reviewed articles.

APS - American Physical Society
Academic Journals published by the American Physical Society.

AIP - Australian Institute of Physics
The AIP is a organisation dedicated to promoting the role of physics in research, education, industry and the community. Find free magazines, journals, articles, etc.

ScienceDirect
From foundational science to new and novel research, discover ScienceDirect's large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.

ResearchGate
No login required, but need to click “join for free” and then “No, my work is not scientific”

Google Dataset Search
Google dataset search helps researchers locate free access online data. If you're looking for data and statistics on a particular subject you might want to try this search engine!

Britannica Online Encyclopedia
Britannica Online School Edition is a comprehensive reference and learning portal for students from Prep to Year 12. It Includes four encyclopedias and over 120,000 articles, as well as atlases, dictionaries, timelines and multimedia. The Encyclopedia supports students with an extensive collection of study guides and curriculum based learning activities. Students from Prep to Year 5 are encouraged to use the Primary School section, the Middle School section is suitable for Years 6 to 8, and the High section for Years 9 to 12. You can save your search results, use the Multimedia resources for oral presentations, and email search results to your ipad. Students can cite information by clicking on the 'tick in a box' button at the top of the page. Please note: Access is only available at school. For further information please see the Library staff.

Britannica is suitable for junior, middle and senior students and is an excellent place to start when researching a topic.

Search SLQ databases
Click on this link to search SLQ databases
Registration is simple and free.
Members can access all the SLQ online databases. Please contact the library if you require assistance with this process or would like help using the SLQ online databases.
Use your school email (with your B0 number) and password to create an account.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Click below for more databases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) eBook Platform
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an eBook platform that allows you to explore eBooks on topics such as the arts, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science and technology. Students can cite articles by clicking on the cite button at the top of the page. Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Password: redcol

GALE Student Resources in Context (High Schoo)
Student Resources in Context contains links to information on the following topics: biography, geography, history, science and health, sports, business economics, government, literature and the arts, social issues, world cultures and religion. Students can cite articles by clicking on the cite button at the top of the page.Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Password: redcol

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile contains thousands of journal articles and periodicals on topics such as biology, chemistry, environmental science, history, criminal justice, economics, marketing, political science and psychology. Students can also articles by clicking on the cite button at the top of the page. Please remember that these passwords belong to Redlands College users only. For further information please see the Library staff.

Password: redcol

Beyond the Standard Model of Elementary Particle Physics by Yorikiyo Nagashima
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9783527665051
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
Cracking the Particle Code of the Universe by John W. Moffat
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9780199915521
Publication Date: 2014-01-14
An Introduction to Particle Physics and the Standard Model by Robert Mann
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9781420083002
Publication Date: 2009-11-18
An Introduction to the Standard Model of Particle Physics by W. N. Cottingham; D. A. Greenwood
Call Number: eBook - PDF Document
ISBN: 9781009401722
Publication Date: 2023-07-27
The Standard Model and Beyond by Paul Langacker
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9781498763226
Publication Date: 2017-06-26

Ask an astronaut by Peake, Tim
Call Number: S 629.45 PEA
ISBN: 9781784759483
Publication Date: 2018
DK guide to space by Bond, Peter
Call Number: S 523 BON
ISBN: 9780241254851
Publication Date: 2016
Gravity by Hunter, Nick
Call Number: S 531 HUN
ISBN: 9781474746090
Publication Date: 2018
Physics: An Illustrated History of the Foundations of Science by Tom Jackson
Call Number: S 530.09 JAC
ISBN: 9780985323066
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Seven brief lessons on physics by Rovelli, Carlo
Call Number: S 530.1 ROV
ISBN: 9780141981727
Publication Date: 2016

Research Tips for Senior School Science

Libre Texts Study Guide - Arguing Using Critical Thinking (Marteney, 2024).

Does Your Source Pass the C.R.A.A.P. Test?

Assessment Task Sheet - Research Investigation

Year 12 Unit 4 Physics - Research Investigation Assessment Task Sheet 2024
Click on the link to download PDF Document.

Resources

Claim: The discovery of blue LED’s deserved a Nobel Prize.
Stimulus: Press Release: New light to illuminate the world (Akasaki, Amano & Nakamura, 2014).
Note: Students can research Nobel prize winners in Physics that are related to Unit 4.

Articles

Nobel for blue LED that revolutionized lighting (Gibney, 2014).

The birth of the blue LED (Nanishi, 2014).

The Blue LED Nobel Prize: Historical Context, current scientific understanding, human benefit (Tsao, et. al., 2015).

Mom, How does a CD or DVD or Blu-ray Work? | Doc Physics

Claim: Physicists Discover a Possible Break in the Standard Model of Physics; breaking the lepton universality.
Stimulus: Physicists Discover a Possible Break in the Standard Model of Physics (Galeon, 2017).

Articles

A Challenge to lepton universality in B-meson decays (Ciezarek, et. al., 2017) - PDF document.

Rule-Breaking Particles Pop Up in Experiments around the World (Crivellin, 2022).

How universal is (lepton) universality? (Shears, 2014).

Could the Standard Model Be Wrong? Exploring Lepton Universality | The Royal Institution

Standard Model survives stringent test of lepton universality at the ATLAS experiment

Claim: The Standard model is a tyrant. No new particles can be discovered.
Stimulus: The Stand Model of Physics is a Tyrant - It's apparent infallibility saps the vitality of the field (Link, 2018).

Articles

Is the Standard Model of physics a tyrant? (O'Leary, 2018).

Scientists expand search for new particles at the Large Hadron Collider (Charley, 2024).

The Standard Model Theory [May Be] a Wrong Way (Talios, 2023).

Is The Standard Model of Particle Physics Complete? (Forbes Quora, 2016).

Weblinks, Study Guides & Notes

Limitations of the Standard Model of Matter (Science Ready HSC Resources, 2024).

Is It Possible that the Standard Model of Particle Physics is wrong?

Claim: The Standard Model of particle physics is brilliant and completely flawed.
Stimulus: The Standard Model of particle physics is brilliant and completely flawed (Hobbs, 2017).

Articles

The standard model of particle physics passed one of its strictest tests yet (Conover, 2023).

Five mysteries the Standard Model can't explain (Gomez, 2018).

Is It Possible that the Standard Model of Particle Physics is wrong?

Claim: Gravity does not need to be included in the Standard Model
Stimulus: Gravity versus the Standard Model (Butterworth, 2014).

Articles

Gravity, Lorentz Violation, and the Standard Model (Kostelecky, 2003) - PDF Document.

What is the Standard Model of particle physics, and why are scientists looking beyond it? (Hooper, 2022).

How We Know Gravity is Not (Just) a Force (Koberlein, 2014).

Discovery That Changed Physics! Gravity is NOT a Force!

How can we unite gravity and the Standard Model?

Does the standard model account for the force of gravity?

Gravity in Particle Physics

Claim: Particles can be their own antiparticle.
Stimulus: Chasing a particle that is its own antiparticle (Lopes, 2018).
Note: Students can research matter and antimatter especially Majorana Fermions.

Articles

An experiment proposed by stanford theorists finds evidence for the Majorana fermion, a particle that's its own antiparticle (Chui, 2017).

A solid case for Majorana fermions (Reich, 2012).

Evidence Found for a Majorana "Cousin" (Wright, 2023).

Are neutrinos their own antiparticle? | Even Bananas

Particles and Antiparticles | Cowen Physics

Claim: Supercolliders like CERN can create blackholes that could consume the Earth
Stimulus: The Day the World Didn't End (Phillips, 2008).
Note: Students can research the history of particle accelerators and their designs.

Articles

The day the world switched on to particle physics (Chalmers, 2018).

Particle accelerator (Sutton, 2024) - Encyclopedia Britannica.

Smashing the Atom: A brief history of particle accelerators (Sivers, 2020).

The Safety of the LHC (CERN, 2024).

Large Hadron Collider (LHC) (Lyndon, 2019) - PDF Document from Access Science Database.

An Overview of Potential Dangers Arising From High Energy Experiments (Raizes, 2018).

What's Next for Particle Physics (Butterworth, 2015) - PDF Document.

Weblinks, Study Guides & Notes

Episode 17: We Finished Season One of the Flash! | E23 & E24 of the Flash (That's Not How Science Works Podcast, June 27, 2019) - find interesting links and articles about Particle Accelerators, Tungsten, Black Holes, Radiations, etc...

The Law of Conservation of Matter (Shrestha, n.d.).

eBooks (State Library of Queensland)

Cracking the Particle Code of the Universe by John W. Moffat
Call Number: eBook (via the State Library of Queensland)
ISBN: 9780199915521
Publication Date: 2014-01-14

Particle accelerators: What are they, how do they work and why are they important to us?