Skip to Main Content

Year 9 History - World War One: Overview

If you require additional assistance using the databases, locating resources, or referencing, please contact Miss Chalaby in the library.  We are happy to communicate with you via email, phone or Zoom.  

WWI - Summary on a Map

World War One (Epic History) - 1 Hour Documentary

Australians At War 1914-1918 (NFSA Films) - Documentary

From the Film Australia Collection. Made by The Commonwealth Film Unit 1967. Directed by Barrie Pattison. For Australia, the First World War was a social crisis as well as a military one. This film, a reasoned appraisal of Australia’s part in the First World War, also examines the effects of the war on Australia’s national psyche. It traces all the major battles in which Australia took part, from troops leaving home to peace celebrations, and shows the different kinds of warfare as well as advances in military technology. Made up of actual footage shot on the battlefields of Europe at the time (including rare footage of Gallipoli), this is an authentic, on-the-spot portrayal of the war.

 

Anzac Special: The Gallipoli Story (ABC Behind the News)

Monash: The Forgotten Anzac (Documentary - 55 minutes)

Australian General Monash | Who did What in WW1

Viller-Bretonneux (ABC - Behind the News)

Australia's Darkest Hour - The Battle of Formelles | The Great War

The Battle of Beersheba

The Christmas Truce | History Channel

Resources

Contents on this page: 

 

Articles 

Historiography of World War One (Tallec, 2014). 

The war unit spinning the truth in World War One (Ballinger, 2016). 

World War I (1914-1918) (Britannica, School Middle, 2023).

 

Weblinks

Origins of World War One (Anzac Portal, 2022).

Tactics of warfare during World War One (Anzac Portal, 2022).

Technology and equipment developed during World War One (Anzac Portal, 2022).

U.S. Entry into World War I, 1917 (Office of the Historian, n.d.). 

World War One - BBC Collection of articles, videos, etc. relating to WWI. 

 

Go up to Contents

 

Articles 

First World War 1914 - 18 (Australian War Memorial, 2021).  

 

Weblinks

Anzac Diversity (Australian War Memorial).

Australians and wartime experience in World War I (Anzac Portal, 2020). 

Australia's responses to World War I (Anzac Portal, 2020). 

Daily Life: Anzac Voices (Australian War Memorial). 

Enlisting in the Australian forces during World War I (Anzac Portal, 2023). 

Great War nurses (Australian War Memorial, 2021). 

Mephisto (Currey, 2016). 

Origins of World War One (Anzac Portal, 2022).

Read WWI Stories (ANZAC Centenary, Victoria State Government, 2019). 

Role of Australian Women in World War I (Anzac Portal, 2022). 

Structure of Australia's forces in World War I (Anzac Portal, 2020). 

Weapons used by the Australian Army in World War I (Anzac Portal, 2023). 

Where Australians served during World War I (Anzac Portal, 2021). 

World War I and Australia (State Library of NSW, 2022). 

World War I and Australia 1914 to 1918 (Anzac Portal, 2022). 

World War I Collection (State Library of NSW) - a collection of personal diaries and correspondence of men and women who served in the first World War soon after the Armistice. 

World War I: Nurses (National Archives of Australia) - great primary sources on Anzac Nurses during WW1.

World War I: Women in Australia after the war (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on women and families of injured WW1 veterans who took on the bulk of their day-to-day care. 

 

Go up to Contents

 

Articles 

Flies, filth and bully beef: life at Gallipoli in 1915 (Cleary, 2015). 

Gallipoli Campaign (Encyclopedia Britannica School - High, n.d.). 

The Battle of Gallipoli (Stock, 2014) - This article is available via GALE eBooks.

 

Weblinks

A Camera on Gallipoli: The Photographs of Charles Ryan (Australian War Memorial Online Learning Resource) - This is a PDF Document - excellent resource for Primary Source material. 

A Gallipoli Perspective: Diary of an Anzac (Australian War Memorial) - a great primary source. 

Daily Life: Anzac Voices (Australian War Memorial). 

Daily life at Anzac from May to August 1915 (Anzac Portal, 2022). 

Defining Moments: Gallipoli Landing (National Museum of Australia). 

Gallipoli (Australian War Memorial). 

Gallipoli Campaign 1915 (Anzac Portal, 2022). 

Gallipoli: Event Timeline (ABC - Gallipoli: The First Day Centenary Edition). 

Gallipoli: The Story of the Day (ABC - Gallipoli: The First Day Centenary Edition) - This webpage provides a collection of 12 short 3D animated videos highlighting the key events of 25 April 1915. 

The campaign that defined a nation (Australia's Defining Moments Digital Classroom - National Museum Australia).

The Gallipoli Campaign (ABC - Gallipoli: The First Day Centenary Edition, 2015).

Understanding Gallipoli (a collection of articles on Gallipoli) (Australian War Memorial). 

What you need to know about the Gallipoli Campaign (Imperial War Museum). 

 

Go up to Contents

 

Articles 

Formelles (Australian War Memorial, 2023) - This article talks about one of battles of the Western Front in which Australian Forces played an important part. 

History of the Western Front (Anzac Centenary, 2019). 

In their own words: ANZACs of the Western Front (Boyle, 2012) - this article includes a YouTube video link that provides some helpful first hand stories (primary sources). 

Pozieres (Australian War Memorial, 2023) - This article talks about another one of the battles of the Western Front in which Australian forces played an important part. 

The Western Front (Anderson, 2023). 

 

Weblinks

Australians on the Western Front 1916 to 1918 (Anzac Portal, 2021). 

Australia on the Western Front (Anzac Centenary Queensland, 2021). 

Australians on the Somme 1916 to 1917 (Anzac Portal, 2021). 

Nurses on the Western Front (Anzac Centenary Archive).

Western Front (a database collection on events and people involved on the Western Front) (Australian War Memorial). 

Western Front Key Battles (Anzac Centenary Archive).

Western Front Timeline (Anzac Centenary Archive). 

World War I: The Western Front (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on the Australian troops in the Western front. 

 

Go up to Contents

 

Articles 

At War for Christmas by Emma Campbell (Campbell, 2012).

What Australian soldiers ate for Christmas in WWI (Benbow and Tout-Smith, 2018). 

 

Weblinks

Christmas in the trenches (Sir John Monash Australian National Memorial, France). 

The Real Story of the Christmas Truce (Imperial War Museum, 2023). 

Go up to Contents
World War I - Politics 

 

Articles 

Politicians at War: The Experiences of Australian Parliamentarians in the First World War (Pegram, n.d.). 

 

Weblinks

Conscription debate in Australia during World War I (Anzac Portal, 2022). 

Politics in Australia during World War I (Anzac Portal, 2020). 

 

Go up to Contents

 

A Camera on Gallipoli: The Photographs of Charles Ryan (Australian War Memorial Online Learning Resource) - This is a PDF Document - excellent resource for Primary Source material. 

A Gallipoli Perspective: Diary of an Anzac (Australian War Memorial) - a great primary source. 

World War I: Gallipoli (National Archives of Australia). 

World War I: Nurses (National Archives of Australia) - great primary sources on Anzac Nurses during WW1.

World War I Collection (State Library of NSW) - a collection of personal diaries and correspondence of men and women who served in the first World War soon after the Armistice. 

World War I: The Western Front (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on the Australian troops in the Western front. 

World War I: Women in Australia after the war (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on women and families of injured WW1 veterans who took on the bulk of their day-to-day care. 

Location f the 1914-1918 Battlefields of the Western Front

 

Click here for the interactive map - A clickable map containing detail on various battles and battlefields.