In History, continuity and change refer to aspects of life or of a society that have remained the same or aspects that have changed or developed over time. The causes of change, or the reasons why change has been resisted and things have remained the same, can be investigated, along with the nature and pace of change and the impact of change. Concepts such as progress and decline may be used to evaluate continuity and change in a time period.
What is change and continuity in history? (History Skills)
How to write about change and continuity over time (CCOT) (Hart, n.d.).
Articles and Weblinks
Analyzing Change and Continuity in Women's Experiences as Wage Earners, 1840-1940 (Keller, 2000) - article available on JSTOR database via the State Library of Queensland.
Effects of WWI lingered long in Australia (AAP, 2014).
Medical legacy forged by War (Ekins & Stewart, 2011).
The damage inflicted on the Australian home front by the Great War (Beaumont, 2018).
The Assessment Task:
HINT: Trace change and continuity by comparing what life for Australians was just before and during WWI and what it was like just afterwards up until WW2. For example: Has the role of women in Australian society changed or continued the same during and after World War I? - Look for sources on women's roles during WWI and compare them with sources of women's roles during the period after WW1, including for example sources on women during WW2.
1. Read and understand your assessment question/task.
2. Create your document, including title page and reference page
3. Identify the key concept in your assessment question/task (for this task your key concept is World War One)
4. Next, identify other keywords and related terms (eg: Australia, and your chosen 'person, event, place or object'). See step 7.
5. Read broadly to understand your topic.
6. Use reliable and authoritative sources such as government websites and databases to locate your resources.
7. When searching any of the databases, we recommend you using between 2 and 5 keywords with the word and in between. For example: World War One and Australia and nurses (the word 'and' does not count as a keyword).
8. Use organisational (.org) websites with caution as they can may contain bias and may not be referenced, apply the C.R.A.A.P evaluation test to ensure the source is current, relevant, authoritative, accurate and purposeful.
Articles
6 medical innovations that moved from the battlefield to mainstream medicine (Samuel, 2017).
Australian doctors and the war (Reade, 2014).
Australian Doctors at War. A literature review. Part Two: After Gallipoli (Due, 2021).
Australian medical imaging and world war one (Barclay and Mandarano, 2022).
Australia's women doctors in the First World War (Sheard, 2017).
Battlefield Legacies: The Australian Collection of WWI Pathological Specimens (Hearder, 2023).
How Nurses in World War I Helped Ideas About What Women Could Accomplish (Todd, 2018).
Medical developments in World War One (Bell, 2018).
Medical legacy forged by War (Ekins & Stewart, 2011).
The forgotten Australian women doctors of the Great War (Sheard, 2015).
The Women Doctors Who Fought to Serve (Moo, 2017).
World War One: Medical advances inspired by the conflict (Clarke, 2014).
Wounding in World War One (Anderson, 2014).
WWI: Medicine on the battlefield (Campbell, 1993).
Weblinks
Australian Army Nursing Service in World War I (Anzac Portal, 2023).
Medical treatment of Australian soldiers in World War I (Anzac Portal, 2022).
Medicine in the First World War (Imperial War Museum).
Progress in Medicine and Surgery during the first World War (Reseau Canope).
Researching Australian Nurses (State Library of Victoria) - find more links to research via the State Library of Queensland.
Stretcher bearers (Australian War Memorial).
Women in war (Anzac Centenary Queensland, 2019).
A Quick Guide to Medical Service in the Second World War (Imperial War Museum).
A Short Guide to Medical Services During the First World War (Imperial War Museum).
Diaries of a stretcher bearer 1916-1918 (John Oxley Library, 2015).
Australian Heroines of World War I by 
Devotion: Stories of Australia's wartime nurses by 
An Equal Burden by 
In search of Ethel Allchin : investigating the life of a World War 1 Australian nurse through evidence by
Articles
Analyzing Change and Continuity in Women's Experiences as Wage Earners, 1840-1940 (Keller, 2000) - article available on JSTOR database via the State Library of Queensland.
Australia's women doctors in the First World War (Sheard, 2017).
Australian Women at Work in WWII: Keep Cool and carry On (Weightman, 2022) - you may use this article on WWII is a comparison point with women's roles during the First World War - Consider changes and continuity of conditions, roles, etc.
Changing lives: gender expectations and roles during and after World War One (Grayzel, 2014).
How Nurses in World War I Helped Ideas About What Women Could Accomplish (Todd, 2018).
The forgotten Australian women doctors of the Great War (Sheard, 2015).
The Women Doctors Who Fought to Serve (Moo, 2017).
Women and the great war: during World War, women stepped forward to volunteer, protest, make weapons - even fight (Hoover Digest, 2015) - article available via GALE Academic ONEFILE database.
Women and World War I (Gilchrist, 2014) - Dictionary of Sydney, State Library of NSW.
Women, war, and the limits of change (Hartmann, 1995) - article available via GALE Academic ONEFILE database.
Weblinks
12 Things You Didn't Know About Women in the First World War (Imperial War Museum) - includes links to primary sources, such as art, photos, documents, etc.
ABC Open: The changing roles of women on Anzac Day (ABC Education, 2022) - includes a video.
Australian Women and the Second World War: Great Debates (Anzac Portal, 2020) - browse the topic of the role of women during the second world war - a good comparative point to see changes and continuity in their roles.
Australian Women in War (Database) - browse women, organisations, commemorations, archives, resources, etc.
Roles of Australian women in World War I (Anzac Portal).
Second World War nurses (Australian War Memorial).
Women and World War I (Centenary of Anzac).
Women's land army played an important role during World War II (Anstee, 2022) - has primary source material - browse the topic of the role of women during the second world war - a good comparative point to see changes and continuity in their roles.
Women's war work (State Library of Victoria) - find more links to research via the State Library of Queensland.
12 Things You Didn't Know About Women in the First World War (Imperial War Museum) - includes links to primary sources, such as art, photos, documents, etc.
A Closer Look at the Women's Work Collection (Imperial War Museum) - links to primary sources.
The Second Battlefield: Nurses in the First World War (The National WWI Museum and Memorial).
The Women Doctors Who Fought to Serve (Moo, 2017).
World War I (Australian Women at War).
Australian Heroines of World War I by Devotion: Stories of Australia's wartime nurses by 
Educating Women in Australia by In search of Ethel Allchin : investigating the life of a World War 1 Australian nurse through evidence by 
Women and war [World War One] by 
Women at Work in Australia by Contents on this Page:
Articles
Exciting New World: Australia in the 1920s (Heffernan, 2022).
Science and Technology (Endacott, 2014).
The Science of Destruction: How WWI Drove Development in Science and Technology (Dano, 2015).
Weblinks
How Did World War I Change Weapons for Today? (Doughboy Foundation, 2023).
Innovation at War (Sir John Monash Centre Australian National Memorial, France).
Military Technology in World War I (Library of Congress).
Technology and equipment developed during World war I (Anzac Portal, 2021).
Technology, Weaponry and Communications in 1918 (Australian War Memorial).
How Modern Weapons Changed Combat in the First World War (Imperial War Museum).
World War I in Photos: Technology (Taylor, 2014).
A Timeline of Guns, Missiles, and Rockets by 
A Timeline of Tanks and Other Armored Vehicles by Contents on this Page:
Articles
Australian veteran's health: WWI (Millen, 2012) - PDF Document.
From shell-shock to PTSD, a century of invisible war trauma (McDonald, et. al., 2018).
How PTSD went from 'shell-shock' to a recognized medical diagnosis (Blakemore, 2020).
How psychiatric ideas about trauma evolved after World War I (Johnson, 2021).
'Needs tactful and sympathetic treatment': Mental Health during the First World War (Casey, 2019).
Returned soldiers and PTSD: when the war's over but battles remain (Twomey, 2019).
The First World War and the Legacy of Shellshock (Eghigian, 2014).
The forgotten soldiers (Hunter, 2022).
War Psychiatry and Shell Shock (Reid, 2019).
What World War I taught us about PTSD (Butterworth, 2018).
Weblinks
Voices of the First World War: Shell Shock (Imperial War Museum).
Broken Men by 
