Year 6 HASS - Historical Recount Journal: Australia in the 20th Century: The Great Depression

The Great Depression in Australia

1929-1932 Great Depression (O'Connell, n.d.). 

1930 to 1939 - Depression and Crisis (Parliament of NSW, n.d.). 

1931 Beef Riot in Adelaide (O'Connell, n.d.). 

Defining Moments: Great Depression (National Museum of Australia, 2022). 

Exciting New World: Australia in the 1930s (Heffernan, 2022). 

Making Do on 'the Susso': The material culture of the Great Depression (Gleeson, 2021). 

Memories of the Great Depression (Brody, 2013). 

Skint! Making do in the great depression (Stevens, 2023). 

Sustenance in the 1930s (Whitehead, 2011). 

The Cud On History - Looking Back on the Great Depression in Australia (Williamson, n.d.).

What have we learnt? The Great Depression in Australia from the perspective of today (Gruen and Clark, 2009) - PDF document - some very helpful sections on the Great Depression in Australia. 

The Great Depression (in the United States and the World)

7 causes of the Great Depression, and how the road to recovery transformed the US economy (Field and Kim, 2022).  

9 Principal Effects of the Great Depression: How this low point in US history still affect you today (Amadeo, 2022). 

Americans React to the Great Depression (Library of Congress, n.d.).

Great Depression (Encyclopedia Britannica School, n.d.). 

Labor Unions During the Great Depression and New Deal (Library of Congress, n.d.). 

Oct 29, 1929 CE: Black Tuesday (National Geographic Society, 2022). 

President Franklin Delano Roosevelt and the New Deal (Library of Congress, n.d.). 

The 1930s  (Onion et. al., 2022). 

The Stock Market Crash of 1929 (Lumen Learning, n.d.). 

Top 5 Causes of the Great Depression (Kelly, 2020).

Stock Market Crash of 1929 Facts, Causes, and Impact: The crash that launched the Great Depression (Amadeo, 2022). 

The Great Depression (Kubic, 2016). 

The Stock Market Crash of 1929 (Rosenberg, 2020). 

What Caused the Stock Market Crash of 1929? (Kramer, 2021). 

The Great Depression in Australia

For Love or Money: Equal Pay Paradox (National Film and Sound Archive of Australia, 1983) - A video clip about Australian Women during the Great Depression. 

James Scullin and GCMG (National Film and Sound Archive of Australia, 2007) - Prime Minister of Australia during the beginning of the Great Depression in Australia. 

The Great Depression (Culture and Recreation, n.d.).

The Great Depression (The United States and the World)

Great Depression (History Channel) - a collection of articles and other interesting links on the 1930s and the Great Depression. 

New Deal (Archives Library Information Center) - Collection of Resources (including primary sources).

The Great Depression (Khan Academy). 

The Wall Street Crash, 1929 (BBC Bitesize, 2023). 

A History of the Twentieth Century (O'Callaghan, 1987, pp. 106-125) - a PDF document - The Great Depression in the United States of America.

FDR's First Inaugural Address declaring 'war' on the Great Depression (National Archives Educational Resources, 2016) - The Great Depression in the United States of America (includes some primary source material). 

Great Depression Primary Sources & Teaching Activities (National Archives Education Updates, 2021) - The Great Depression in the United States of America. 

Great Depression ration allowance (Department of the Interior, Civic Branch, 1936) - includes image of a document from the National Archives of Australia. 

Unemployed men protest during Great Depression - memorandum for the Minister of Home Affairs (Australian Archives, Central Office, 1931) - includes image of a document from the National Archives of Australia. 

The New Deal (Primary Source Set) - Digital Public Library of America. 

Harris Smart and Chris Wilson continue their music evoking memories of the Great Depression of the 1930s in Australia. "A shanty town sprang up down by the river. People were living in tents and huts made out of tin and hessian bags." 

Harris Smart plays music recalling the Depression times of the 1930s in Australia. "The worst was when you had to go on the "susso" (sustenance rations) and your kids would get called 'susso kids'."

In which John Green teaches you about the Great Depression. So, everybody knows that the Great Depression started with the stock market crash in 1929, right? Not exactly. The Depression happened after the stock market crash, but wasn't caused by the crash. John will teach you about how the depression started, what Herbert Hoover tried to do to fix it, and why those efforts failed.

This video examines the impact of the Great Depression on Australian society during the late 1920s and 1930s. This period saw levels of poverty and despair on a scale never before experienced in contemporary Australia. A diverse range of opinions and reflections are presented, providing insights to fascinating aspects of Australian society at the time, including the key political figures and government policies, and the involvement of politically-driven interest groups including trade unions, unemployed workers, secret armies, communists and fascists. Throughout the video, we hear from notable academics and other prominent Australians, including historian, author and broadcaster Michael Cathcart; historian Humphrey McQueen; Professor Marilyn Lake; and former Victorian MP Joan Coxsedge.