Year 6 HASS - Historical Recount Journal: Australia in the 20th Century: World War I

Gallipoli 

A Camera on Gallipoli: The Photographs of Charles Ryan (Australian War Memorial Online Learning Resource) - This is a PDF Document - excellent resource for Primary Source material. 

Defining Moments: Gallipoli landing - 1915: Australian Troops land at Gallipoli (National Museum of Australia, 2022). 

Gallipoli (Australian War Memorial, 2022). 

The Battle of Gallipoli (Stock, 2014) - This article is available via GALE eBooks.

The Gallipoli Campaign (ABC - Gallipoli: The First Day Centenary Edition, 2015).

The Western Front

Australia on the Western Front (Anzac Centenary Queensland, 2021). 

Australians on the Somme 1916 to 1917 (Anzac Portal, 2021). 

Australians on the Western Front 1916-1918 (Anzac Portal, 2021). 

Formelles (Australian War Memorial, 2023) - This article talks about one of battles of the Western Front in which Australian Forces played an important part. 

History of the Western Front (Anzac Centenary, 2019). 

In their own words: ANZACs of the Western Front (Boyle, 2012) - this article includes a YouTube video link that provides some helpful first hand stories (primary sources). 

Pozieres (Australian War Memorial, 2023) - This article talks about another one of the battles of the Western Front in which Australian forces played an important part. 

The Western Front (Anderson, 2023). 

General Articles 

Anzac Diversity (Australian War Memorial).

Mephisto (Currey, 2016). 

General Weblinks

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Anzacs Case Studies (Australian War Memorial).

Australia in the First World War: Memorial Box 1 (Australian War Memorial) - full of great primary sources. 

Chinese Anzacs Case Studies (Australian War Memorial). 

European Anzacs Case Studies (Australian War Memorial). 

Sources: the conscription debate (Australian War Memorial) - great primary sources. 

World War I (National Archives of Australia) - great primary sources on different topics relating to Australia and World War I. 

World War I: Nurses (National Archives of Australia) - great primary sources on Anzac Nurses during WW1.

World War I: Women in Australia after the war (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on women and families of injured WW1 veterans who took on the bulk of their day-to-day care. 

World War I and Australia 1914 to 1918 (Anzac Portal).

Gallipoli

A Gallipoli Perspective: Diary of an Anzac (Australian War Memorial) - a great primary source. 

The campaign that defined a nation (Australia's Defining Moments Digital Classroom - National Museum Australia).

Gallipoli - The Making of the Modern World (State Library of NSW, 2023) - research activity. 

Gallipoli: Event Timeline (ABC - Gallipoli: The First Day Centenary Edition). 

Gallipoli: The Story of the Day (ABC - Gallipoli: The First Day Centenary Edition) - This webpage provides a collection of 12 short 3D animated videos highlighting the key events of 25 April 1915. 

Understanding Gallipoli (a collection of articles on Gallipoli) (Australian War Memorial). 

The Western Front

Australians on the Western Front 1916 to 1918 (Anzac Portal).

Nurses on the Western Front (Anzac Centenary Archive).

Western Front (a database collection on events and people involved on the Western Front) (Australian War Memorial). 

Western Front Key Battles (Anzac Centenary Archive).

Western Front Timeline (Anzac Centenary Archive). 

World War I: The Western Front (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on the Australian troops in the Western front. 

A Camera on Gallipoli: The Photographs of Charles Ryan (Australian War Memorial Online Learning Resource) - This is a PDF Document - excellent resource for Primary Source material. 

Documenting the Australian experience of World War I (Anzac Portal). 

Found in the trenches (State Library of NSW, 2023) - includes images of items found in the trenches of Gallipoli. 

In their own words: ANZACs of the Western Front (Boyle, 2012) - this article includes a YouTube video link that provides some helpful first hand stories (primary sources). 

Photograph of an Anzac trench, Gallipoli (Department of Information, Central Office, 1915) - image and description available in the National Archives of Australia. 

Photograph of soldiers landing at Anzac Cove, Gallipoli (Department of Information, Central Office, 1915) - image and description available in the National Archives of Australia. 

Private Simpson and his donkey at Gallipoli (O'Brien, 1915) - image and description available in the National Archives of Australia. 

Sources: the conscription debate (Australian War Memorial) - great primary sources. 

The Western Front: They began arriving in France in late spring 1916 (Edmonds, 2023) - includes diary entries and images from the Western Front - available from the State Library of NSW. 

Veterans' accounts of the first day (25 April 1915) (ABC - Gallipoli: The First Day Centenary Edition) - This webpage provides a collection of short video interviews with veterans who were there many years ago in Gallipoli. 

World War I diaries (Cochrane, 2023) - includes images of a soldier's diary - available from the State Library of NSW. 

World War I (National Archives of Australia) - great primary sources on different topics relating to Australia and World War I.

World War I: Nurses (National Archives of Australia) - great primary sources on Anzac Nurses during WW1.

World War I: Women in Australia after the war (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on women and families of injured WW1 veterans who took on the bulk of their day-to-day care. 

World War I: The Western Front (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary sources on the Australian troops in the Western front. 

Writing at Gallipoli: First-hand accounts of the landing at Gallipoli on 25 April 1915 (Edmonds, 2023) - includes excerpts from diaries & images available from the State Library of NSW.