Year 6 HASS - Historical Recount Journal: Australia in the 20th Century: World War 2

General Articles

The war that shaped Australia (James, 2014). 

Second World War, 1939-45 (Australian War Memorial, 2021). 

Kokoda 

Defining Moments: Kokoda Trail - 1942: Japanese bomb Darwin but are halted on Kokoda Trail (National Museum Australia, 2023). 

Kokoda (Andrews, 2011) - Article available via GALE eBooks. 

General Weblinks

Australia and the Second World War (Anzac Portal).

Australia in the Second World War - Memorial Box 4 (Australian War Memorial) - This webpage provides a interesting look at some WW2 artifacts (a great primary source). 

Second World War 1939-45 (75th Anniversary) (Australian War Memorial). 

War in Europe and North Africa (Australian War Memorial). 

World War II (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary source material on WW2 and Australia. 

Kokoda

Kokoda Timeline (ABC Documentaries) - PDF Document.

Kokoda Track 1942 to 1943 (Anzac Portal). 

Kokoda track campaign (State Library of Victoria). 

Australia declares war with Japan - excerpt of Prime Minister John Curtin's address to the nation (Prime Minister John Curtin and ABC Head Office - Radio Archives, 1941) - Audio recording and transcript of the address available from the National Archives of Australia. 

Japanese propaganda and White Australia during World War II - memorandum (John Latham, Australian Legation, Tokyo and Department of the Interior, Central Office, 1941) - image of document available from the National Archives of Australia. 

World War II (National Archives of Australia) - a collection of primary source material on WW2 and Australia. 

Marking the 75th anniversary of the end of the Second World War – and how it helped shape modern Australia.

The Academy Award newsreel form 1943 depicting the fighting in New Guinea. Read more about this on the Anzac Portal.